Loveland Misdemeanor Attorney
Do you really need a Loveland misdemeanor attorney for a misdemeanor violation?
You’re not required to immediately hire an attorney, but experienced misdemeanor lawyers can often save you both time and money by reducing your exposure to the hassle of the criminal court system and getting sentences reduced in certain cases. There’s also the possibility of your attorney getting charges dropped altogether, but no promises can be made.
If you’ve been arrested for misdemeanor crime in Loveland, a good criminal attorney can help you through the criminal process, try or negotiate your case, and get you the results you deserve.
If you are charged with a misdemeanor offense, it’s important to understand the penalties you face and how your situation will play out in the court system. Furthermore, it’s important to understand what your rights are and to be aware of your local laws so that may affect your situation.
What are the different types of misdemeanor crimes?
Some common misdemeanors in Colorado:
- Unlawful use of a driver’s license (CRS 42-2-136)
- Unlawful ownership of a dangerous dog (CRS 18-9-204.5) (1st offense)
- Disorderly conduct (CRS 18-9-106)
- Harassment (CRS 18-9-106)
- Prostitution (CRS 18-7-201)
- Criminally negligent child abuse causing no injury.
- Petty Theft
- Indecent Exposure
- Public Intoxication
- Simple Assault
- Disorderly Conduct
- Reckless Driving
How are misdemeanor charges heard? Misdemeanor charges are heard only by a judge. A Fort Collins misdemeanor attorney can advise you on whether or not your case has a good chance of success, whether you even have a case, and whether your charge could even be dismissed.
Misdemeanor Crimes Punishments
In Colorado, a misdemeanor crime conviction is typically broken into two levels 1 and level 2. In addition, misdemeanors can be punishable by probation, up to 18 months in the County jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
If a defendant has multiple classifications of misdemeanor, the sentences are arranged by the seriousness of each individual offense.
In what circumstances will a misdemeanor be filed against me? Misdemeanors are filed when police are aware that the defendant may have committed a crime but have not yet been charged. This could include waiting in line at the store until the clerk hits “sell” and an officer catches you with drugs in your pocket.
Please note that only an experienced Loveland misdemeanor attorney can accurately advise you as to whether there will be fines or jail time.
Why would I need a Northern Colorado misdemeanor lawyer?
Even if you have been arrested for a crime in Northern Colorado, without a doubt you will may be facing some serious charges. While it may seem like a minor matter, misdemeanor charges can impose serious consequences, including probation, big fines, a prison sentence and/or a suspended license.
It’s best to consult a Loveland criminal defense attorney before making any type of decisions about your case.
Need Legal Help?
Contact The McCuaig Law Firm Now For A Free Consultation!